Tuning your turbo diesel

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tuning your turbo diesel

As I keep being asked for advice on this by various people (dunno why as I'm not really an expert at this!) I've decided that until I get time to write a proper how to tune your turbo diesel article with pics etc I thought I'd start putting a few things down here to remind me what to include. So here it is a work in progress. As usual I'll add the disclaimer that all advice is given in good faith but without responsibility!

Before you do any tuning on your TD make sure that the cam belt is good and that the fuel pump timing is correct, (you'll need a dial test indicator (DTI) gauge to do this).

Then check that the EGR valve isn't leaking (my advice is to disconnect it and weld the bugger shut!)

Then check the turbo boost pressure. Add a gauge if possible, this is easiest done where the boost pressure pipe comes to the fuel pump along a metal pipe around the side of the block. There is then a final length of flexible pipe that joins this to the top of the fuel pump. Put a T piece into this pipe and plumb in a boost gauge. At full boost you'll want a gnats under 1 bar/ or 13-14PSI. My turbo diesel was found to only be boosting at 0.5 bar when I got it so it is worth checking. To adjust you simply shorten or lengthen the actuator arm in the usual way. Its pretty easy on a TD compared to some cars.

Now we can turn our eyes to the heart of the system the fuel injection pump. There are 4 basic things to adjust on the pump

1. The smoke screw. This is the star shaped bolt thing on the top of the pump. This really is only designed to affect smoke at idle. If you screw it in you increase the fueling rate off boost however you will get a smaller increase in fueling when you go on boost. Simply screwing this screw in to get more torque is a bit of a bodge in my opinion.