She won't restart if she's still hot!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• She won't restart if she's still hot!

Hi all... I have recently joined the club with a view to taking my love of Austins a bit more seriously. I have been driving them since 1990 and have had 2 1990/1991 Montegos: both have now sadly passed away ;o( and more recently my Grandad's/Mum's/My 1988 E reg 1.6 Maestro VP Auto. I have always done most of the work myself (it is a great runner still with my only quibble being the fuel consumption!) but the recent problem is a bugger... I am thus resorting to your varied expertise!
    She will start and run perfectly for any length of journey. However, if I try and start her again within say 45 mins/1 hour, she will get 100 yards up the road before the engine dies and will not restart for love nor money, i.e. I have to wait an hour between each journey!
    I have replaced the old & weak fuel pump and pipes which I thought was the problem and a local grease monkey friend has replaced the distributor module (?), which was his great idea. Neither has made any difference. It is not the cooling system as that is working perfectly as far as I am aware, so what could it be?!
    Can anyone suggest another solution or is the old lady simply dying in my arms? I love taking her out on business and pleasure... but I can't sit waiting for her an hour each time... even the missus is quicker than that!!!

hey , and welcome to the forums ..

Does this Engine Have An ECU ?

and does anyone know if these engines have a diagnostic plug ?

Comment

Troublesome hot restarts on 1.6 Auto's are often caused by the Vacuum Switch on the side of the carb becoming defective, or Your carb stepping motor seals might have perished, or your coolant temperature sensor might be underreading, telling your car that it is cooler than it really is.
      M&MOC Committee Member - Archivist
      Join the M&MOC | Visit the Club Shop | Printable Club Flyer (PDF)

Comment