Montego 2.0HLS - Early O Series engine SEIZED

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Montego 2.0HLS - Early O Series engine SEIZED

When I saved this Montego 2.0HLS back in March, I knew it would need work to the engine. The previous owner claims that the car was running when parked up in 1999 due to a leaky water pump and oil pump, but that now the engine was stuck. This was confirmed when I tried to turn her over when she arrived. It just clunks when I turn the ignition key. I have soaked diesel down the bores several times and there is no improvement to date. I fear that the engine may be damaged more than I have been made aware. I have taken the expansion tank off and it weighs a ton. It feels like it has a solid deposit in the bottom but I can't see it. There is also a solid powdery deposit inside the thermostat housing. What could this be? I guess my next job should be to whip the head off? I'm not a mechanic so any advice on the way forward would be appreciated. I'd like to rescue the original 80k mile early O Series engine if I can...
    Attached Files
    1985 Austin Montego 2.0HLS x 2

MONTEGO - THE CAR THAT PUTS THE DRIVER FIRST

How about putting some fresh engine oil in and towing it at speed putting it in 3rd gear and slowly start lifting the clutch to try and release it?

Comment

I do have a spare early engine if you need it Ed
      1958 Ford Consul Convertible. I love this car
      1965 Ford Zodiac Executive. Fab cruiser being restored
      1997 Jaguar Xk8 Convertible. Such a fab car
      2003 MGZT V8. BRG and new project
      2004 MGZT cdti. Great workhorse
      2004 MGZT V8. Black I love this car

Comment

Remove the alternator - Twice I've had a seized alternator give all the symptoms of a seized engine. Both times cutting the belt off has proven the engine to be ok.
        If this doesn't help then:
        Fill the engine bores with 100ml of diesel each and leave the plugs out. Leave overnight