Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hi from Birmingham

Hi folks.
    I'm Pootz from Birmingham (real name is Andy but everyone calls me Pootz )
    I owned a 1.6 MG Maestro back in 1991 & a 1.3 Austin Montego in 1995.

I have now got the urge to own another Maestro or Montego, either Austin o Rover (the earlier the better though )but preferably an automatic (although I'm open to manual as well as long as the gear change isn't too stiff as I have rheumatoid arthritis which affects my left hand quite badly.

I've been driving mk2 golfs for the past 8 years and at present I have a 1985 mk2 golf cl turbo diesel which I'm trying to sell to fund a maestro or montego (unless someone has one they want to swap )

Hopefully I'll find one soon but until then I'm afraid I'm driving around in a borrowed punto which I hate.

Well that's all for now. ... better get back to shopping for cars

i had a automatic and the only thing i had a moan about was they are only 3 speed and did not seem to go far on a gallon of petrol.some thing worth taking in consideration before you have one

Comment

Cheers for the reply and the info.
      I've had a few mk2 golf autos and they're the same (3 gears and higher than average fuel consumption) so I'm used to that.
      With the golfs, the gear change is quite stiff which was making me lean towards an automatic car.
      What's the gear change like on a 1.3 or 1.6 montego / maestro?
      It's been that long since I owned one I can't remember.
      If they're not too bad then I'll start looking around for a manual one.
      the only thing is with the 1.3 is its 4 speed as opposed to 5 speed so are they any good for motorway driving (not that I do much )
      Thanks

Comment

there are 5 speeds on some 1.3 maestros.the later ledburys have the van 5 speed gearbox fitted but not as good rev wise as the rover cars

Comment

Cheers.
          I'll keep searching

Comment