Spraying Bumpers.

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spraying Bumpers.

Well I will be wanting to spray some plastic bumpers soon, and I would like to have a go myself and learn whilst Dan is doing welding on my police car.

Just wondering if anyone could put together a how to along with materials needed for me, being a novice I don't know.

We have a compressor, and a spray gun. Just need to purchase a mask. Oh and we don't have that much space either
    Rover 200 and 400 Owners Club (for wedge shape rovers, including coupe, tourer and cabriolet). - www.rover200.org.uk

When it comes to painting and trying to do a proper job, it's all in the preparation. Sanding, primering, sanding some more and then a little bit more sanding is the order of the day.

I would suggest taking the bumpers off and mounting on a stand of some sort. If your area is dusty, consider making a painting "booth" with plastic sheeting hanging from the ceiling.

Huge books have been written on painting cars so you're unlikely to get complete information from the forum.

One last thing - primer, colour, laquer - don't forget the laquer - this is what gives the paint job depth and shine (and separates the excellent paint jobs from the reasonable ones!).

Comment

beware of moisture

A lesson I quickly learned when I started spraying was to make sure no moisture ends up in the gun.
      You'd be surprised how much damp there is about -even on the driest days.
      Always drain the compressor well before spraying, and give the pipework a good blow through, and last but most important of all fit a good water trap filter in the airline between the compressor and spray gun.

When spraying start with the edges first, because these need most paint. Then lightly spray the entire item several times with light coats always doing the edges first and finishing with the flat work.

Just a couple of tips that I had to learn the hard way.

have fun
      Darren.
      My name is Darren.