MG Montego Restoration

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MG Montego Restoration

I am well on with my MG Montego restoration and feel a little ashamed I haven't put much on here, hence here will be my restoration thread! I've never done a thread of my own before so I am not sure what you will be interested in so if you want to see / hear more or indeed less on any particular bits just let me know!
    I bought the car a while ago as I have always had a passion for them, I have owned various Maestros and Montegos before and wanted a turbo as a project. It got parked in my garage and with a combination of work commitments, health issues and various other time consuming matters the restoration started very slowly, hopefully now though things will get moving quickly.
    The car had been parked up for 4 or 5 years with a blown head gasket, it is a one owner car and extremely original. The rear arches are rotten, the sills are rusty but the rest of the shell is surprisingly pretty good. When it arrived here the engine was seized, I have tried to free it off, diesel down the plug holes, weekly nudging on the crank bolt but nothing has worked. The interior was wet, so much so that it has rotted the rear seat cloth and the headlining is hanging down. The dash is good.

So in the past 12 months all I have done is remove the front wings, headlights, bonnet, bumper and front panel along with the interior. I have removed the front suspension, O/S driveshaft and wishbone. I have now started to strip the engine bay and I have had the cylinder head off to see why in 12 months I haven't been able to turn it. I will post a picture to show the reason!!

So here is the reason why the engine wouldn't turn!! I always knew the engine would be pretty much shot. I would like to say a massive thank you to Ray for the engine and the turbo block. (And everything else Ray!) it is now very apparent they will be needed.

Comment

This is the oil filler tube showing it's age!