Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• ok here we go: Want to buy a Montego in Switzerland, need some tech advise

Hi everyone

After reading through many technical posts here as well as the FAQ's I've still some questions.

I would like to buy a Montego here in Swtizerland, the ad does not look too good, but I'll still go inspect the car next Saturday.

Ad: http://www.autoscout24.ch/de/d/austi...p%3d10%26r%3d5

I'll check the usual things, such as rust, sealings, screen, lights, engine (oil, water, etc.) but I'm not a mechanic. My mechanic says restoring the car could be anything between 50 and 50000 swiss francs ;-) No chance to tell without inspecting the car of course.

So my questions are:
    -is there a buyer's guide somewhere?
    -What are the most obvious parts to look at?
    -what are Montego-specific parts to look at?
    -where do I find the chassis number?

And, how hard/easy is it to find spares such as:
    -suspension parts?
    -Windscreen- and other windows?
    -electric windows parts?
    -engine parts such as headgasket, cooler, hoses, water- and fuelpump, alternator etc.?
    -exhaust, cat
    -head-/tail lights
    -interior parts
    -badges and stickers

From the pictures I see in the ad I guess it will be a shed. The car most probabely sat under a tree for the last couple of years... After speaking to the seller I'm not very positiv, trying to translate it to english:
    'hay, mi name iss ZICO. No, car doss not hav papper, cann organisse papper next tuesday, plise cal again'
    So I'm guessing he is asking his friends in Albania to print new papers or whatever...

Any help and inputs much appreciated!

Hello zlx
    That car looks very good to me from pictures. One of the common things you see with these is that the dashboard panel above the instruments warps with age and starts to lift. This one hasn't done that which to me says it has probably been stored inside and not under a tree.